It’s Steak Night!

Dry aged steaks at home

How bout a $50 steak at home for about $8

I hate steak houses but I love steak. I just can’t stand the thought of paying a 500% mark up for something I could just as easily do at home. It takes very little technique to properly sear a steak. Confidence and a good ventilation system is really all you need. Well that and a heavy cast iron skillet. In this recipe I chose the fancy 100% grass fed cow because I don’t have steak all that often and frankly I think it tastes better. It also has more Omega-3’s and costs about twice as much but hey this is supposed to be treat not an everyday meal. Its still way cheaper than a steak house. I chose to dry age my steak in the fridge to concentrate the flavor. It was a goal of mine to approximate a fancy schmancy steak house as much as possible. The result you will see is gorgeous.

First get your steaks home and wash them in cold running water and pat them dry. Then you will wrap them in paper towels and elevate them on a draining rig of some kind.

You want circulation around the meat. Change out the paper towels after the first 12 hours and subsequently every 24 hrs. Dry age like this for 3-4 days. Then it’s steak night!

Steak Night

Preheat oven to 350° degrees
Stash your trusty heavy duty cast iron skillet in the oven to heat up
Pull steaks from chill chest and dispose of paper towels. Salt the meat liberally and allow to come to room temperature while the oven is heating (about 30-40mins)
Now place your cast iron skillet over super high heat and allow it to become rocket hot. Lightly brush canola or other high heat oil on steaks
Sear on both sides (time will depend upon how hot you can get your skillet, for me it’s about 1min per side but my range is pretty wimpy)
It’s gonna get smokey and maybe even a little char but DON’T MOVE THE MEAT AROUND. This would prevent the crust to form and would be s tragic even indeed.
Put steaks in oven until desired doneness is achieved. (should feel the palm of your hand when you poke it for medium-rare)

Me I like my steaks on the rare side so I call them done after a good sear. It’s also good to undercook them if you plan on having some for leftovers (which you should).

Slice if desired and serve with asparagus and mashed cauliflower.

There you have it gorgeous steak at a fraction of the cost. Steak is generally not an every night occasion. But with the right tools and technique it can elevate an ordinary night into an occasion.

This entry was posted in Food, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s Steak Night!

  1. Yummy! I forgot about mashed cauliflower till I saw it here.

  2. Pingback: A Brief Lettuce Wrap up | Converge Fitness and Nutrition's Hot Pot

  3. So your blog is awesome, and this looks delicious! I will have to try it some time soon. I hope all is well!

Leave a Reply

